79 + 364

Frieder Nake, silk screen print, 1965

79 + 364
FRIEDER NAKE – SOLO EXHIBITION

We are happy to invite you to meet with the pioneer, theoretician, author and artist Frieder Nake.

Saturday, December 15th, 2018,
3 – 5 PM

Exhibition:
December 15th – February 23rd, 2019

Frieder Nake (born 1938 in Stuttgart, lives in Bremen) is considered one of the pioneers of computer art. As a student he developed the basic software for the flatbed plotter Zuse Graphomat Z64 at the Computing Center of the Technical University in Stuttgart in 1963. In addition to technical drawings, also drawings with aesthetic appeal were produced from Nake’s early experiments in algorithmic art. At one of the first exhibitions of digital art worldwide, he presented his work together with Georg Nees at the Wendelin Niedlich gallery in Stuttgart in November 1965. After that, the exhibition at the Data Center Darmstadt in 1966 found a broad response in the media.

Nake has been honoured with numerous prizes and awards. He has published numerous writings influenced by Max Bense’s information aesthetics, where he reflects on computer-generated image. Also, Nake wrote about the early computer graphics in an essay for Wolf Lieser’s publication, “The World of Digital Art“, 2010. As Nake says, “Today we view the many and varied events and manifestations of art, which have been summarized as ‘computer art’. However, computer art has gone far beyond its simple and timid start. In addition to imagination, we find boldness, audacity, and a lot of specialized knowledge. We went against everything that was considered art. We were the avant-garde. […] It was conceptual art, made by a machine.”

We pay tribute to the oeuvre of Frieder Nake, just before his 80th birthday, with a small exhibition at DAM. On this occasion Frieder Nake will introduce a new series of fine art prints, which refer conceptually to his early period of 1965.

Celebrate with us!

PS: Between the 17th of December and 19th of January 2019 the gallery is open by appointmnet only.

79 + 364

Frieder Nake, Siebdruck, 1965

79 + 364
FRIEDER NAKE – EINZELAUSSTELLUNG

Wir laden Sie herzlich zu einem Treffen mit dem Pionier, Theoretiker, Autor und Künstler Frieder Nake ein.

Samstag, 15. Dezember 2018,
15 – 17 Uhr

Ausstellung:
15. Dezember – 23. Februar 2019

Frieder Nake (*1938 in Stuttgart, lebt in Bremen) gilt als einer der Pioniere der Computerkunst. Als Student entwickelte er 1963 am Recheninstitut der Technischen Hochschule Stuttgart die Basis-Software für den Flachbett-Plotter Zuse Graphomat Z64, mit dem neben technischen Zeichnungen auch solche mit ästhetischem Anspruch entstanden, als Nake in der Folge die ersten Experimente algorithmischer Kunst unternahm. Als eine der ersten Ausstellungen digitaler Kunst weltweit präsentierte er bereits im November 1965 seine Arbeiten zusammen mit Georg Nees in der Galerie Wendelin Niedlich in Stuttgart. Die folgende Ausstellung 1966 im Deutschen Rechenzentrum Darmstadt fand bereits breite Resonanz in den Medien.

Nake erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen und reflektierte selbst, von der Informationsästhetik Max Benses beeinflusst, in zahlreichen Schriften über das computergenerierte Bild. Retrospektiv schreibt Nake in einem Aufsatz in Wolf Liesers Publikation „Digital Art – Neue Wege in der Kunst“ von 2010 über die frühe Computergrafik: „Was heute unter dem Wort ‘Computerkunst’ in großer Vielfalt und Zahl, in vielfachen Ereignissen und Formen alltäglich geworden ist, geht weit über jene zaghaften und einfachen Anfänge hinaus. Diese aber verlangten Mut, Kühnheit und hohes Spezialistenwissen neben Fantasie. Wir stellten uns gegen alles, was Kunst war. Wir waren Avantgarde. […] Es war Konzeptkunst in maschineller Ausführbarkeit.“

Wir ehren das Schaffen von Frieder Nake kurz vor seinem 80ten Geburtstag mit einer kleinen Kabinett-Ausstellung im DAM. Zu diesem Anlass stellt Frieder Nake eine neue Serie von generativen Blättern vor, die sich im Programm auf seine frühen Arbeiten von 1965 beziehen.

Feiern Sie mit uns!

PS: Die Galerie ist vom 17. Dezember bis 19. Januar lediglich nach Vereinbarung geöffnet.