GANland

Casey Reas, Latent Images, 2019
Anna Ridler, Mosaic, 2018
Mario Klingelmann, Memories of Passersby, 2018
Jenna Sutela, nimiia cétiï, 2018

GANland
with Mario Klingemann, Casey Reas, Anna Ridler, Jenna Sutela.

Preview: Friday, January 31st, 2020, 7-9 PM
8 PM: Introduction to the exhibition by Wolf Lieser with Jenna Sutela and Mario Klingemann

Saturday, February 1st, 2020, 3 PM:
Art Intelligence – Talk with Jenna Sutela, Mario Klingemann and Wolf Lieser (English)

Exhibition: February 1st – March 21st, 2020

We are happy to present to you for the first time in Berlin a selection of artists representing the avantgarde of digital art. Those artists work with “Machine Learning” or “GAN Generative Adversial Networks”. Both are complex and time-consuming algorithmic systems that are being used to create new, previously unimaginable images.
To quote Anna Ridler regarding GAN: It is a process of essentially two intelligences dancing around each other, and then unpredictable and unquantifiable results of the dynamics emerge from this, to make images.

For his work “Memories of Passersby I”, Mario Klingemann trained in this case his AI model using thousands of portraits from the 17th to the 19th century to create new portraits in realtime that will never appear again.

Casey Reas presents a further development of the series exhibited at DAM last year, that was based on pictures of nature, named “Latent images”.

Anna Ridler’s most famous work “Mosaic Virus” refers to the tulip mania during the 1630’s in the Netherlands and developed a unique, contemporary solution for modifications of varieties of tulips.

Jenna Sutela’s multilayered audio-visual presentation “nimiia cétiï” uses Machine Learning to generate a new written and spoken language. This language is based on the computer’s interpretation of a Martian tongue from the late 1800s.

The artists have been shown previously at the world’s most significant institutions and museums such as MoMA, New York, Whitney, New York, Serpentine Gallery, London, Pompidou, Paris or Hermitage, St. Petersburg.

GANland

Casey Reas, Latent Images, 2019
Anna Ridler, Mosaic, 2018
Mario Klingelmann, Memories of Passersby, 2018
Jenna Sutela, nimiia cétiï, 2018

GANland
mit Mario Klingemann, Casey Reas, Anna Ridler, Jenna Sutela

Preview: Freitag, 31. Januar 2020, 19 – 21 Uhr
20 Uhr: Einführung in die Ausstellung durch Wolf Lieser mit Jenna Sutela und Mario Klingemann

Samstag, 1. Februar 2020, 15 Uhr:
Art Intelligence – Ein Gespräch mit Jenna Sutela, Mario Klingemann und Wolf Lieser (Englisch)

Ausstellung: 01. Februar – 21. März 2020

Mit dieser Ausstellung präsentieren wir erstmals in Berlin eine Auswahl von Künstlern, die für die Avantgarde der Digitalen Kunst stehen. Sie arbeiten mit „Machine Learning” oder „GAN Generative Adversarial Networks”. Beides sind komplexe und aufwändige algorithmische Systeme, die hier eingesetzt wurden um neue Bilder zu schaffen, die vorher nicht denkbar waren.
Zitat von Anna Ridler zu GAN: Es ist ein Prozess bei dem zwei intelligente Systeme umeinander tanzen und dann entstehen unvorhersehbare und nicht quantifizierbare Resultate aus dieser Dynamik, neue Bilder.

Für seine Arbeit „Memories of Passersby” trainierte Mario Klingemann in diesem Fall sein AI-Modell mit tausenden von Portraits des 17. bis 19. Jahrhunderts, um neue Portraits in Echtzeit hervorzubringen, die sich niemals wiederholen.

Casey Reas zeigt eine Weiterentwicklung der bereits im letzten Jahr gezeigten Serie basierend auf Naturaufnahmen mit dem Titel „Latent images“.

Anna Ridlers bekanntestes Werk „Mosaic“ bezieht sich auf die Tulpenmanie der 1630er Jahre in den Niederlanden und entwickelte eine eigene, zeitgenössische Lösung für Modifikation von Tulpensorten.

Jenna Sutelas vielschichtige audio-visuelle Präsentation „nimiia cétiï“ bedient sich des Machine Learnings um eine neue gesprochene und geschriebene Sprache zu generieren. Diese Sprache basiert auf der Interpretation des Computers einer Marsianersprache des späten 18. Jahrhunderts.

Die Künstler haben bereits international in den bedeutendsten Institutionen und Museen ausgestellt, wie zum Beispiel dem MoMA, New York, Whitney, New York, Serpentine Gallery, London, Pompidou, Paris oder der Hermitage, St. Petersburg.