HAROLD COHEN – AARON

Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983

AARON
HAROLD COHEN – SOLO EXHIBITION

We are happy to invite you to the first solo presentation in Germany of the artist Harold Cohen (1928 – 2016): Aaron

Friday, January 25th, 2019, 7 – 9 PM
8 PM: Introduction to the exhibition by Frieder Nake

Exhibition:
January 26th – March 16th, 2019

Harold Cohen (1928-2016) was an internationally established painter, when he began at the end of the 1960s to explore creative possibilities using computers. This was triggered by his move from London to California caused by accepting a teaching position at the University of California, San Diego. In 1973, he began developing a system called AARON that, based on formal rules, autonomously generated drawings and paintings of increasing complexity over almost four decades. Though it was praised by “Artificial Intelligence” research, Cohen abandoned the system when he felt it had lead him into a dead-end. He returned to algorithms when he observed that his painting machine was attracting people’s attention more than his works. They had meanwhile become human portraits. – Cohen’s concept was distinctly different from those of his contemporaries like Frieder Nake, Manfred Mohr, or Vera Molnar. His position in the world of computed images was unique; an exceptional rock. Already before his turn to the computer, his work had been represented at documenta 2 and 33rd Biennale Venice. In 1977, he returned to documenta where he displayed his drawing machine in action. He was represented at exhibitions around the world in many important museums and galleries like Tate, London or San Francisco MoMA.

Cohen’s programmed drawings evolved from archaic abstractions, inspired by petroglyphs of the Mojave Dessert, to figurative images of humans. The series exhibited in the show was done for an exhibition 1983 at the Arnolfini in Bristol, UK.

At that point the business of drawing closed forms was linked also with the notion of trying to find how the human hand did it. And right from the beginnig, the program’s drawing mode was meant as a kind of dynamic model of freehand drawing, so that everything was run in feedback mode. There were no spline curves, no preplanning of any of the lines it drew. Aaron would always start off with a full understanding of the things it needed: it not only knew where it was and where it wanted go go, but also knew the direction it was facing at the start and the direction it wanted to be facing when it got to the end, and it would figure out a path on the basis of matching its current condition with some kind of end condition. That feedback has always been a fundamentally important part of the program.” (Harold Cohen, as quoted in Pamela McCorduck’s book “Aaron’s Code. Meta-Art, Artificial Intelligence, and the Work of Harold Cohen“, 1991, p. 65.)

HAROLD COHEN – AARON

Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983
Harold Cohen, Aaron, 1983

AARON
HAROLD COHEN – EINZELAUSSTELLUNG

Wir laden Sie herzlich zur ersten Einzelpräsentation des Künstlers Harold Cohen (1928 – 2016) in Deutschland: Aaron

Freitag, 25. Januar 2019, 19 – 21 Uhr
20 Uhr: Einführung in die Ausstellung durch Frieder Nake

Ausstellung:
26. Januar – 16. März 2019

Harold Cohen (1928-2016) war ein international etablierter Maler, als er mit seinem Wechsel von London nach Kalifornien Ende der 1960er Jahre begann, sich mit Möglichkeiten des Computers in der Kunst zu beschäftigen. Auslöser war ein Lehrauftrag an der University of California in San Diego. Ab 1973 entwickelte er unter dem Namen AARON ein auf formalen Regeln basierendes System, das Schritt für Schritt über fast vier Jahrzehnte hin Zeichnungen und Malereien von wachsender Komplexität autonom erzeugen konnte. Ein System, von der Forschung zur “Künstlichen Intelligenz” gelobt, das Cohen schließlich aufgab, weil er es als eine Sackgasse empfand. Er kehrte zurück zum Algorithmischen, als er beobachtete, dass die Menschen seiner Malmaschine mehr Interesse entgegenbrachten als seinen Werken. Diese waren inzwischen menschliche Portraits geworden. – Cohens konzeptueller Ansatz unterscheidet sich deutlich von denen seiner Zeitgenossen wie Frieder Nake, Manfred Mohr oder auch Vera Molnar. Er vertrat eine einmalige Position in der Welt der berechneten Bilder. Vor seiner Wende zum Computer war er bereits auf der documenta 3 und der 33. Biennale Venedig vertreten gewesen. Zur documenta kehrte er mit Zeichenmaschine 1977 zurück. Ausstellungen in vielen wichtigen Museen und Galerien, wie z. B. Tate, London oder San Francisco MoMA.

Cohens programmierte Zeichnungen entwickelten sich aus archaischen Abstraktionen, von Felszeichnungen der Mojave Wüste inspiriert, bis hin zu figurativen Darstellungen von Menschen. Die in der Ausstellung gezeigte Serie entstand für eine Ausstellung 1983 im Arnolfini, Bristol (UK).

Zu dieser Zeit war die Aufgabe, geschlossene Formen zu zeichnen, mit der Auffassung davon verbunden, wie dies der menschlichen Hand gelingen konnte. Von Anfang an wurde die Zeichenmethode des Programms als dynamisches Modell des Freihandzeichnens gedacht, so dass alles rückgekoppelt ablief. Es gab weder Spline-Kurven noch Vorausplanung irgendwelcher Linien, die zu zeichnen waren. Aaron startete stets von einer vollständigen Kenntnis all der Dinge, die es brauchte: nicht nur wusste es, wo es war und wohin es wollte; es kannte auch die Richtung, in die es zu Beginn orientiert war, wie auch die Richtung, in die es zum Schluss orientiert sein wollte. Es würde einen Pfad finden, der vom jetzigen Zustand ausging und einen beabsichtigten Endzustand erreichen ließ. Diese Rückkoppelung war immer ein fundamental wichtiger Teil des Programms.” (Harold Cohen, zitiert in Pamela McCorducks Buch “Aaron’s Code. Meta-Art, Artificial Intelligence, and the Work of Harold Cohen”, 1991, p. 65; unsere Übersetzung)